5 Comments

Saturday isn’t Saturday anymore!

I awoke to the sound of my alarm yesterday and was reminded of a feeling I haven’t had in years. I was feeling like the 8-year-old little boy who would wake up on Saturday morning, jump out of bed in his footed pajamas, and head straight to the tv for his favorite Saturday morning cartoons. Then sadly, present day reality slammed me back to earth as I realized I needed to get ready for work.

I find it disheartening that television has lost that Saturday morning ritual. Just about as disheartening as me  having to work on Saturdays to make a living. Now though, with television networks that are dedicated to a lineup of 24 hour a day cartoons, I guess there is no need for that Saturday crack of dawn custom. It seems to take away from the specialness of the cartoons. Now , not to sound like the old-timer with his “I use to walk to school 10 miles uphill both ways in snow up to my butt” story’s, but just to give you an idea of how things have changed.

When I was a young boy there weren’t 500 channels on the tv to watch, there was 1. So cartoon watching was a rare thing. Usually, I would come home from school and there would be an hour of cartoons, like maybe Popeye and Tom and Jerry, or maybe Bugs Bunny and Friends. Also,remember, when I was 8, there were no video games. I think Pong might have existed, but none of us could afford something like that back then. There also were no home computers and the internet was just an infant and few people even knew about it. So this made Saturday mornings even that much more prized. They would play cartoons from 6am to noon meaning 6 hours of pure enjoyment.  A very precious time that still brings a smile to my face when I think of it.

The current generations have very little of an understanding of how such small things as Saturday morning cartoons were so valuable. If you are one of those younger generation, just try to hold on to your memories of being young. Because life will quickly move on, and before you know it,  you’ve grown up and are working Saturdays to keep your family fed. The future has hit, everything has changed, and you might wake up one morning to realize I miss it.

Evilitis

5 comments on “Saturday isn’t Saturday anymore!

  1. Yeah, I miss Saturday morning cartoons. I’ve tried a few times to watch them recently… only to be disheartened by the crap they have for kids nowadays. 😐 Stop ruining ‘my’ childhood memories… make new cartoons! Gah! lol

  2. I know exactly how you feel Evil. Sometimes, I miss those days because it made good parent/kid time and it was special. Now, to many kids just see cartoons all the time and its lost its…special.

  3. Welcome to the NBI! Have fun blogging and let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a comment