6 Comments

Conception

I wanted to touch on the conception of the not so new noob idea.  The idea first came to my mind when I rejoined the World of Warcraft community after a 2 year hiatus. As I stated in my first post of this blog, I started my adventure in WoW back during the Burning Crusade expansion. I climbed my way, ever so slowly and casually, to level 70. I had finally reached level 70 when they released the next expansion, Wrath of the Lich King. In that expansion the top-level you could acquire was raised to level 80, if i recall right. I just know that I was very upset and disappointed that I had finally, after quite some time, reached the pinnacle of level 70 and now they were raising it. I couldn’t even have time to enjoy being one of the upper echelon and enjoy the perks of being the top grade. It actually bothered me to the point I decided to quit WoW for a while. Speaking to a friend of mine on Twitter , Jason Etheridge of The Ootinicast podcast, I was reminded of another reason why I left WoW.   At the time,  it actually was a good move for me financially too. Some people might consider $15 a month an inconsequential amount of money, but sometimes, for some people, it can make quite a difference.

When I finally decided to come back to Wow, it was soon after the release of the 3rd expansion Cataclysm. I actually  was quite excited when I seen all the new changes and what had become of the world I had spent so many days, so many hours and spent so much gold in. I still find times during playing the game where I’ll be taken aback by something that has changed or is even gone completely. Soon I realized also, how much the playing of the game had changed. This is when I started experiencing that unsure, hesitant feeling of being a noob once again. Thus, this is where my first thoughts of the not so new noob began.

One of the ideas I came up with to help acclimate me back into the game was to start listening to WoW podcasts.  I Googled a few different ones and also found a great list via Wow Insider through the WoW Weekly podcast roundup. While listening and learning from some of great podcasts out there, I noticed quite a few of the podcasts had blogs or came from blogs. Now, I’m no spring chicken, but I’ve been involved with computers and the internet since way back when. I was aware of the world of blogs, but I really have never been much of a reader and had not spent much time experiencing the blogging universe. With my introduction to podcasts, this would change.

Recently I was listening to one of my favorite WoW podcast The Twisted Nether Blogcast. The hosts, Fimlys and Hydra, were interviewing a guest named Redbeard about his blog Parallel Context. The interview, in fact the whole show, was very interesting. It got me to thinking about my own thoughts about things and gave me the drive to start my own blog.While thinking of ideas for my own blog again the concept of the not so new noob came to mind. So this is where we are and so it begins.

Evilitis

6 comments on “Conception

  1. Well I guess I don’t have to spend the weekend finuirgg this one out!

  2. Are you absolutely styuck with those choices? The isn’t a way to go back and revise the Title without delelting the current blog?

  3. Best of luck, and welcome aboard!

  4. Tremendous issues here. I’m very glad to see your post. Thanks so much and I’m looking ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

Leave a comment